I have a project that currently has a standalone HMI/PLC installed and running on a machine. However, due to some layout modifications, it will now require an additional HMI for the second operator to interface with their "half" of the machine. Is there a way to "mirror" a second HMI so that I can use the existing PLC program and I/O wiring, and only duplicate the needed HMI screens for interaction? Maybe a "master/slave" relationship is a better way to state this.

My background is with Allen Bradley products, so doing this is not an issue. However, with the PLC/HMI all in one concept with Unitronics, I am not sure if or how this can be accomplished......

• MVP 2014

This topic has been of interest to me for some time, and I am currenttly helping a customer with a similar application.

Firstly there is no built-in HMI mirror function. This capability needs to be done manually in the program, however it is not so difficult.

I suggest using CAN as the physical layer. Unitronics have some nice features in CAN that will assist:

• UniCAN protocol, which is fast and allows event-driven communications from both ends (compared with the polling that would be required for Modbus).
  • Programming pass-through, so you can program both PLCs by connecting into one of them.

You can export HMI screens from the original program to help create the slave, which can save you the trouble of re-laying the screens from scratch.

I hope this helps,

Thanks Simon.

If I use the CANbus ISC protocol, it is my understanding that the SB200-SB215 bits are always transmitted (or active) to pass over the network. If this is true, and I only have limited bit data that needs to be duplicated on the slave HMI (operator indicators), and minimal manual functions to be sent back to the master for output functions, would this be the best way to accomplish my needs?