Hi

I am new to visilogic and PLC's in general so excuse me if my question is a simple one.

My PLC is a Vision 130, which has high speed inputs and outputs. I understand that with the use of PID function blocks you can produce a PWM output signal but I am looking to interpret a PWM signal from a device to the PLC.

The device is a synchronisation relay to synchronise a generator to the grid. It produces the following:

data is pulse width modulated

SYNC: 8ms high 1: 4 ms high 0: 2 ms high

; a data packet consists of 10 bits data:

first sync 8mS high then b0-b1-b2-b3-b4-b5-b6-b7-b8-b9

I want the controller to be able to read this 10bit data packet so I can use its analogue value within the program.

Is this possible with the high speed inputs I have or will I need to convert the PWM signal to an analogue signal seperately and just use one of the analogue inputs on the PLC?

Thanks in advance

Adam

I wouldn't consider your signal as PWM. The speed of the signal is probably too fast to read reliablly. It might work, but I doubt it because you're right at the edge of the limitations. Scan time will be a huge factor so your program size will have to be kept at a minimum. It would help if you had a faster processor like with the V570. Too bad it is just not a simple communication signal going RS485/RS232.

Depending on the scan I think it will be difficult to tell the difference between a long 2ms pulse and a shot 4ms pulse.

Maybe someone will have a clever idea.

• MVP 2014

Hi Joe, I would expect TTL data to be High for a "1" and Low for a "0". However the first post in this thread indicates the signal is continuously pulsing, and the pulses are 4ms long for a "1" and 2ms long for a "0".

It looks like a special type of signal, so I don't think a TTL to RS232 convertor would work.