Hi, my name is Johnny, and I am going to make the PLC programming on a project using a SAMBA controller.

I have been looking into the different videos and the forum, and right now, I have my doubt that SAMBA is the right choice. So instead of just buying more IO and stuff, and end up with an inconsistent setup, I would like your advice on the setup.

The controller are going to be placed in a lab machine and will go into production next year.
Meaning: “don’t use more money than necessary”, it’s not a onetime solution.

We thought that SAMBA would do the trick, and wanted to use the same controller in the next different models, to get more quantity on it, but if the total price goes to high (e.g. compared to V350) or it’s not possible to work with SAMBA we must change now.

Things that the PLC must be control:

·         1 output: RS-485 to a  Frequency inverter for a small one phase motor

·         1 output: Stepper motor

·         8 output: DC motor, (PWM or on/off in 0,1s interval) 24V 0,5A (max 3 active at the same time)

·         1 output: linear motor, PWM for precise force

·         3 output: LED

·         1 input (optional): hall sensor input to align stepper motor position (could be a hall switch(?))

·         1 input: strain gauge, slowly reacting close loop to linear motor (it could be a silicon strain gauge, 4-20ma)

·         2 input: switches

The only thing I can’t figure out is the stepper motor connection, do I have to add a external stepper controller or/and a stepper driver, or can it connect to the PLC directly?

If I stick to the SAMBA, I guess I need this list of hardware:

·         One SAMBA SM43-J-T20

·         One V100-17-RS4X, the RS-485 connection

·         One EX-RC1 adapter, connect to additional IO

·         One UID-0016T, additional IO

·         ????? stepper motor

Would this setup be better off using another controller?

Thank you, and have a great day.

@johnny