Newbie Help for Stepper Control (V350-35-TRA22)

Hello All,

I apologize for the VERY basic questions I am about to ask but I am new to using a PLC to control a stepper motor.

I have the drive and motor. I read the information included in Visilogic. I am still confused.

I hate to ask but can someone please provide me with basic program to control the stepper drive. I want to provide an RPM and FWD/REV bit. I will answer any questions and will be monitoring this thread constantly over the next few days.

Thank you in advance. Again, I apologize for such basic information but once I have a decent example I should be able to pick it apart and understand things.

Hello,

There are two ways you could set this up: either through PTO programming, or set the high-speed output for Step Control in the hardware configuration.

We can set the HSO in the hardware configuration then give a frequency and duty cycle for the output to run at.  Once you enable the "Run MB" the output will give a high speed pulse.  It will also report back a "Current Position" and you may mtach this to a "Target Position" (where you's like to be).  Once this is set up, you can then program a normal digital output to conotrole the direction.

PTO is a little more advanced, but will allow you to arrive at the same outcome.  We do have an example of this in the VisiLogic software (Help Tab: Examples/Version 900/ Project Examples/ PTO/ V350_PTO plus jogging example.vlp.  Please note, we also have a tutorial on how to set this up as well: http://www.unitronics.com/support/webinars/pto

Please let me know if this helps or if there's anything I can explain further.

If I leave the target '0', will it run indefinite? If not, how would I accomplish this?

Is using an accel and decel typical in stepper motor applications?

Leaving the target at '0' will disable the output from running.  The target position is used to stop the output from continuing once it has reached its destination.