I have been working with Vision PLCs, and Visilogic for several years, and have enjoyed working in the Visilogic software. I have seen improvements, enhancements in the software along the way, and have no complaints. However, after just watching a video of an overview of Unilogic, I am left with a much less enthusiastic view of Visilogic now.  : (

Just about everything I saw in the video made me think "Wow, I wish I could do that in Visilogic!"

Are there plans to add Vision controller support to Unilogic? Or are there plans to overhaul Visilogic to look and function like Unilogic? Or, should I just start planning a migration strategy to Unistream controllers?

• 2 weeks later...
  • MVP 2023

Totally separate animals.  Remember, the UniStream is a Linux-based box and there are a whole lot of things that come pre-programmed in a Linux kernel that the Creators didn't have to re-invent to cram into a standard micro-controller as found in the Vision series.

With greater power comes further complexity in development.  I still prefer the Vision for most systems as it has a much smaller learning curve.  It's main drawback is communications, which the UniStream totally excels at.  I wouldn't have a frowny face on the Visions.  Just know where each product fits best. 

To answer your questions:

No.

No.

Depends on the application.

Joe T.

• Upvote 2

What Joe said :)

On 7/7/2017 at 4:24 AM, Joe Tauser said:

UniStream is a Linux-based box and there are a whole lot of things that come pre-programmed in a Linux kernel that the Creators didn't have to re-invent to cram into a standard micro-controller as found in the Vision series.

Yup - things we COULD not have implemented with a standard micro-controller.