Short Story: Reading 4-20mA raw number fluctuates as much as 60 points on 12 bit. When I put a milliamp clamp at the wire right into the V200-18-E4XB Snap in I have an absolute steady milliamp reading. Why does the raw value before linearization fluctuate so much with an absolute steady mA.

Long Story

Before I got a milliamp meter I kept changing wire, ultrasonic level sensors, laser level sensors and a milliamp generator to a set value. There have been posts in the past by me as I have been working through this issue of fluctuation. I always assumed it was something other than the PLC. Now I have trouble shooted everything back to the PLC and it is the unit that is creating the fluctuating counts.  I am officially at the Grrr state of trying to solve this. Please help unGrrr me.

• MVP 2023

I need one of those 4-20 mA generators! They're too expensive.

I have no experience with the mA generator, but I would assume it would hold a steady reading. If you're still getting fluctuation with that, then maybe there is some kind of hardware problem with the I/O module or a power supply issue. You probably need some input from Unitronics on this.

• MVP 2023

Hi Visco,

before you do anything else, you need to do a direct reading on your line, not with a clamp meter.  Clamp is not good enough, even though plenty of people will tell you so.