Creating ON/OFF controller with analog IN/OUT using VisiLogic

Greetings,

I'm new to this form and to Unitronics PLCs and I would like to ask for some help/

I previously programmed "allen bradley" PLCs using a software called "RSLogics". The were 4 programming languages that I can use to build the PLC program. However,  VisiLogic doesn't have "Structure text" language. I already have done the analog conversion using formulas and created the HMI, but I'm stuck now :(

The program that I am trying to make is simply as follows:

1. A number is written using the HMI and stored in a variable.
  2. This number is then compared to analog reading of the pressure sensor.
  3. If the numbers were different, then one analog output will be changed to reflect the number entered using the HMI - which will control a pressure regulator.

Could anyone please help me with this issue ?

Many thanks,

Qassim

• MVP 2023

Greetings Qassim, basics first please.

For both the pressure regulator and the pressure sensor, what types of signals do they work with?  0-10 V?  4-20ma?  PWM?

What PLC & I/O are you using?

Can the system mechanically tolerate immediately changing to the new setting, or does it need to ramp?

cheers,

Aus

• MVP 2023

You need to close the loop.

It sounds like you want to enter a new pressure setpoint.  You have no guarantee that adjusting the analog output by a certain amount will result in the pressure you want.  Rather, you need some code that will adjust the analog output accordingly until the pressure is equal (or close to) the number entered on the HMI.

This could be done with a PID block or some simple compare blocks.  Post the PLC ladder program (the .vlp file) that you've worked on so far so we can see the hardware you're dealing with the the scaling you've done.

Joe T.

Hi,

Many thanks for the reply @Ausman & @Joe_Tauser.

I spoke to the guy responsible for the project and it turned out that he was mistaken.