checking if a motor is in position using canbus

Hello all,

First off, I am a total beginner in plc. Unfortunatly my first project is a little bit on the difficult side, a small machine containing motors and pneumatic cylinders. All communication to the motor is done with CANBUS.

Now, I would like to check if a motor is in position.

The way I do it now is by reading the position by reading pdo1 every 60ms. Then in my ladder program, I use a compare block to check if the position retrieved is equal to the commanded position.

I think this is kind of inefficient because now my program does a pdo rtr constantly every 60ms (to avoid canbus overflow), which is sometimes unnecessary because I only need to know the position sometimes.

so my question is, is there a better way to know when the motor is in position?

I was thinking about using the 4th bit from the status byte which turns to 1 when the motor is in position? But how to exactly implement this? Do I use a test bit to extract the bit and check it? But is this really better then checking the position via pdo1 and if so why?

And how to prevent the CANOPEN buffer to overflow? Right now there are timers in my program which only allow to read or write an instruction every 10ms... is there a better way to do this?

Thank you for everyone who can give some tips here.

Sven

• MVP 2023

In my last project, I used Lenze 8400 with embedded CANopen .

The capabilities of this driver make possible to prepare "hardware" PDO signal  "IN position", "0-position is known", "ACC", "DCC", ect...

I did not use timers in the program, but only use system bits SB288, 284, 242, 292  to avoid network collisions .

What motor driver used?

Maybe it is  ready to transfer needed bits or they can be re-assigned manually inside the drive.