Fully self taught and looking for some advice/critique on my program.

For a little backstory I work for a small business that basically hired me to be their official tinkerer, they need it learned I learn it. So in my endeavors I had to learn PLC programming to make the program for a water recycling system for a laundromat. This was mostly done through YouTube and trial and error, which has led to me making programs that work for my purposes but I'm curious if I've developed any weird tendencies or bad habits in my little educational bubble.

The project I'm adding here is part of the program and I think shows most of the things that I'm concerned I came up with "unique" solutions to, namely my use of set/reset and timers. If anyone could take a look and see what they think I am open to any and all critique.

Thank you very much for your time,

-Chris

Don't mind some of my labeling, I wasn't sure what the technical name was so I used some very literal descriptions.

SaS_Sensors_Alarms_Revised.vlp

• MVP 2023

The most glaring thing to me is placing multiple logic threads in a a single ladder rung (Password Entry routine rungs 1, 2, & 5). DO NOT DO THAT! It may work, but it is extremely poor practice and will often not perform as expected. You will not run out of ladder rungs, so break all logic into simple components, one per rung.

One other thing is ALWAYS use a positive transition contact for HMI calls. Although the one time you used a direct contact, it appears to me that it will only be on for a single PLC cycle, so it's okay in this case.

I didn't dive into the logic itself, but nothing jumped out at me when I reviewed it.

In general, when I write a program I only have two things in the Main Routine - Power-Ups then subroutine calls. Everything else is handled in subroutines.

I'll try to take a look in more detail later.

• MVP 2023