advice on "main routine" structure

Hello all,

I am a beginning plc programmer and I have to program a small machine.  Since the machine is a prototype, it is not needed to have a perfect program with good fault messages or the ability to run slow or anything like that. I just like to have a simple yet safe program to prove that our prototype will do what it's supposed to do.

The machine has a start and stop button and it needs to home before it can run in automatic mode. I would also like to split up the automatic cycle in some subroutines.

I made some example code that I would use for the main routine. Would this be good code to start from? Or am I missing something rather important?

Thanks for anyone who can offer some advice!

main routine structure.JPG

• MVP 2023

If ladder rung #1 is supposed to be a standard latch circuit, it's wrong - MB 2 should be MB 4.

I think conditional subroutine calls are very poor programming practice. You have to be extremely careful not to leave coils hanging in limbo when the subroutine stops being called.

With PLC ladder logic, the next subroutine is normally called when the previous subroutine is finished - and not before. You don't need a bunch of code to create that situation, as you seem to be doing here.

6 hours ago, Flex727 said:

If ladder rung #1 is supposed to be a standard latch circuit, it's wrong - MB 2 should be MB 4.

Ofcourse! I should have seen that ..

6 hours ago, Flex727 said:

I think conditional subroutine calls are very poor programming practice. You have to be extremely careful not to leave coils hanging in limbo when the subroutine stops being called.

With PLC ladder logic, the next subroutine is normally called when the previous subroutine is finished - and not before. You don't need a bunch of code to create that situation, as you seem to be doing here.