Analog in module measurement reference (not ground).

GeneL

I wish to measure analog voltages greater than 10 vdc.  Am I allowed to reference a UIA-08 input module to 10 vdc and measure up to 20 vdc?  If not why not or better yet, how can I measure values greater than 10 volts?  I have used voltage dividers but they tend to amplify error. I am looking for a "differential amplifier" approach.  Admittedly, I'm new to Unitronics hardware, but I haven't seen a differential input device.

Gene

• MVP 2023
1 hour ago, GeneL said:

I have used voltage dividers but they tend to amplify error.

But do you really need to care?  Think it through.

You're really not amplifying error, you're reducing sensitivity.  Your circuit would be calibrated for a fixed input anyway, and once the divider was installed it would not change its response appreciably.

The accuracy on a 10V input module is 0.3%, which is not as good as a modern multimeter.  Your uncertainty (call it error if you want) is 30 mV.  If you set up your divider to measure 20 VDC then your uncertainty is 60 mV.  Pretty crappy.

Here's a DC "differential amplifier":

https://www.acromag.com/catalog/875/signal-conditioners-converters/signal-converters-transmitters/dc-voltage-current-input

$185.00 each.

Accuracy - 0.05% of span

This will improve your uncertainty but you're still stuck with the PLC's relatively sloppy 30 mV. 

Bottom line - a PLC analog input is NOT a multimeter.  I have tried to make electrical measurements like this in the past and did not have good long term results, thanks to the uncompensated thermal drift of all components involved creating slightly different readings every other day for the same calibration signal.

If all you're trying to do is get a close-ish measurement the PLC is fine.  But your initial comment about error tells me you want something better.