V130 problem with Modbus TCP/IP Function Code #15

Hi!
So, I am writing ASP Core 2 project and one of the components is communicating with Unitronics V130 unit (as a Modbus Slave). Since provided .NET Driver library is not portable to ASP Core I need to implement this communication with Modbus. I have limited experience with Modbus protocols but I have used some basic functions in the past – mostly reading Registers and Coils. Just to sample some data. I used python library modbus_tk for this purpose. Using Modbus gives me options for adding more optional hardware down the line.

After reviewing some libraries supporting Core I selected library Modbus https://github.com/AndreasAmMueller/Modbus made by AndreasAmMueller, written in C# as Net Standard 2.0 library. I started testing this library by communicating over Modbus TCP/IP with V130 PLC. I got mixed results. - namely "Write Multiple Coils " or "Force Coils " (Function code 15) does not work correctly.

So. Modbus read functions all work great, these are:

• Read Coils (Function code 01)
  • Read Holding Registers (Function code 03)

Out of write functions these work great too:

• Write Multiple Registers (Function code 16) – named “#16 Preset Holding Registers” in VisiLogic help files
  • Write Single Coil (Function code 05) – not referenced in Unitronics (VisiLogic) help files under “Slave Addressing”
  • Write Single Register (Function code 06) - not referenced in Unitronics (VisiLogic) help files under “Slave Addressing”

These functions are documented in help files of VisiLogic at “Slave Addressing” topic (where address offsets are defined).

image.png.7105d0a6c4510f1c239c1b5e7542560e.png

Now, function that does not work (at least with V130) is:

•  Write Multiple Coils (Function code 15) – named “#15 Force Coils” in VisiLogic help files