Newbie Looking for Guidance

blksmth

Hello All,

I'm new to Unitronics and PLC programming as a whole. I have been an automation programmer for 20 years in other fields so programming is not foreign to me. I have been working with Unitronics support but they seem reluctant to offer up suggestions on how things should be programmed. Would someone be so kind as to critique the program that I have attached? A little info on the program. There are two analog sensors configured, they're 4-20 pressure sensors that range from 0-700psi. I also have a Dwyer differential pressure sensor, Door Sensor ( to see if someone opened the chassis ) Estop Sensor ( push button )

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

DisV Sandfly 20190417 NRB.zip

• MVP 2023

I don't have time to got through your logic in detail, but here are a few suggestions as to best programming practices:

1) Do not rename the Main Routine. Use it for Power-Ups, configurations blocks, and subroutine calls only.

2) Do not place multiple logic threads in a single ladder rung, as you have done in Rung 4 of Relay Control.

3) It is usually best to keep the logic simple and use more ladder rungs. You will not run out of rungs.

4) Rung 1 of Relay Control should probably be simplified (break it up into multiple rungs) and I think it's odd that you are using a direct contact activating an Increment function. You will be incrementing that register on every scan until the HMI button is released. Use a Positive Transition contact unless you are trying to count how many scans go by during a button press for some unfathomable reason.

That said, most of your code looks pretty good and your HMI screens are terrific.

Thank you for your kind critique.

1) Great to know thank you I will restructure

2) I will look into a more refined way of doing this, really It's because I wanted a parallel function of being able to manually trigger the relays for testing as well as have them be triggered by the system state/scheduler