Image processing on Samba SM43-J-T20

Hello,

I'm wondering if it's somehow possible to do some basic image processing on my Samba SM43-J-T20. I'm not thinking about something fancy, I just want to extract some RGB-Values from pixels of images, sent from a camera connected to the Samba. 

Apologies, if this is a stupid question, I'm very new to Unitronics and PLC's in total.

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

In common, SAMBA  and other PLCs are not intended to process images.

But you have to provide more information to give you recommendations.

-How camera is connected?

-Does camera transmit picture, and what is a picture size?

*SAMBA PLC is limited by memory size.

-What information you should extract?

Having more information from you about required operation forum members may recommend you next steps, or recommend better model, or recommend to forgot this...

B.R.

• MVP 2023

To me the essence of the question is for the plc to tell the user what colour it has showing at a particular single pixel, located either by touch or some sort of adjustable pointer system. 

But as to whether the SAMBA can do this, I don't think so, as it is a total reversal of the way the plc is designed to work in the first place. 

Maybe you could overlay a small colour window that you could scroll through to get a visual match, but I don't think there's an easy way to get the actual value, like an "eyedropper" does in image programs.

Glad for someone to tell us otherwise for your sake, Uni.

cheers, Aus

• MVP 2023

Hi,

i use some models industrial vision camera sensor with onboard processing and logic. (Wenglor, Autonics, Cognex ect.)

As for me PLC like Samba can switch up to 16 (32+) proccesing pattern inside camera via Ethernet (modbus ect.) and test via logic input "0" or "1" on camera logic output.