Help with anaolog inputs and linearization

Hello,

I'm new to programming PLCs. I am working on a project involving the programming of PLCs. There is an existing program which I have to understand. I don't understand the use of the linearization function using the system integers SI 80-84. I have an input with input range of 0-10V. I'm using a M91- 2- UA2 PLC which has a 14 bit ADC. So any input I suppose, would be converted to an internal register value of 0-16383. But the linearisation function uses the following:

SI 80= 0 (x1)

SI 81= 7344 (x2)

SI 82= 0 (y1)

SI 83= 4800 (y2)

SI 84= x

SI 85= y

I want to know what will happen when this linearization function will be activated. 

Hello Pani.

Basically linearization is using the following formula: Y=(Y2-Y1)/(X2-X1)*(X-X1)+Y1

The values Y1,Y2 - define the engineering units limits of the specific device (for example, a temperature sensor measuring 0-100 deg C).

The values X1,X2 - define the limits of the measured signal (0-1023 in 10 bit resolution, 0-16383 in 14 bit resolution).

the specific values you mentioned doesn't correspond to the normal ADC resolutions, however mathematically they should still work. For your application you should assign 0 to X1 and 16383 to X2

Hello Eyal,

Thank you for the information. So if I set the limits as I have specified earlier, and the reading is a value beyond the range(higher than 7344 in this case), then what happens?

Also this means that the 10V input would correspond to 7344 in the input range and 4800 in the output range is it?

Hello Eyal,

Thank you for the information. So if I set the limits as I have specified earlier, and the reading is a value beyond the range(higher than 7344 in this case), then what happens?

Also this means that the 10V input would correspond to 7344 in the input range and 4800 in the output range is it?