Hi everyone

I'm fairly new at unitronics and I'm doing a project that calls for the use of two EX-RC1 connected by modbus.

I've been going through the webinars ( 

and  
) and I'm still in the dark as to how I set up

the EX-RC's for my I/O expansions.

In my first RC I have the following I/O's :  #0: D16A3-RO16 #1:AO6X 2#: AO6X #3: AO6X #4:AI8  #5AI8

In the second RC I have four IO-PT400 modules

I've tried following the second youtube clip, using the EX-RC1 example file where I've added my I/O's, but I get an error when I try to export the Hardware config:

'Export failed (555)

You must define a minimum of one I/O, including its operand link, per module before you can export the configuration'

Can somebody point me in the right direction here?

• 1 year later...
  • MVP 2023

You have to tell us the configuration of the modules connected to your RC1 for us to be of more help.  CANbus is basically a way to transfer blocks of integers between controllers.

For starters, look at Help->Examples->Version 900->Project Examples->Communications->UniCAN for CANbus between masters->V570_UniCAN 1.vlp.  It shows the basics in the ladder logic -  the PLC type doesn't matter at this level.

Give it a try and post your code with specific questions.

Joe T.

• 1 month later...

Hi Joe  thank you for willingness to help.

I am new and not an expert at all. This is  my second PLC from Unitronics I want to code. The first one was a great success. A stand alone one is not a problem with the I/O units connected and coding although I believe there is better ways than my way for coding did it work wonderfull.  

But now my second project is a Vision 130 with two EX-RC1 Units to it. The first EX-RC1 has a IO-RO16/IO-RO16/IO-RO16/IO-RO16/IO-PT400/IO-PT400/IO-PT400/IO/PT400 and the second IO-RO16/IO-RO16/IO/PT400/IO-AO6X     I sorted the communication out between my Vision controller and the two EX-RC1 units working fine right thru to all  my I/O units not a problem.