JZ20-J-UA24 CONTROL VIA LABVIEW

Hello,

I just have a small problem, and I keep on asking some simple stuff, because I'm new to Unitronics, and programming PLCs. I have a JZ20-J-UA24, and I want to read from it, and write via labview. This requires a modbus configuration. I looked at the sample modbus configuration on that unitronics supplies with U90 ladder, and some modbus forums on unitronics, but didn't clearly understand what to do next. So suppose I want to read on labview the temperature measured via a KTC connected to the PLC's analog input channel 1 displaying its value at the level of MI 19, how can I do that?  And can someone explain the configuration of the PLC because I didn't get alot what's going on, or how even to read the IP of the PLC.

• MVP 2023
8 hours ago, Sarkis Sarkissian said:

I looked at the sample modbus configuration on that unitronics supplies with U90 ladder, and some modbus forums on unitronics,

Have you looked at Help/Contents which is next to Tools in the U90 menus?  In the index, Analog, Thermocouple and Modbus are clearly displayed along with more references and explanations once you open the topic.

cheers, Aus

• MVP 2023

For starters, did you download the NI LabView modbus library?

http://www.ni.com/example/29756/en/

I downloaded your application from your other post and see that you don't have Ethernet configured.  Do you have an Ethernet module installed in the Jazz?  If so, search the Help for "Ethernet" on how to do that.

There is also Help on what you need to do in the SI registers to get Modbus working in that same search for Ethernet.

The Modbus address for MI 19 is 40020, or Holding Register 20.  Unitronics starts counting at zero, Modbus starts counting at 1 so you have to offset the address.