UNISTREAM UNICLOUD ETHERNET INTERNET CONNECTION PORT

isaakkis1

Hello,

I am new in Unitronics and I want to buy a Unistream to test Cloud Features,

I have one question, UNISTREAM has only 1 ethernet port.

I have to connect it with an IP Network with other Unitronics Devices, Let say Network 192.168.4.xxx.

If I want the same time to connect it to Unicloud, where I will connect my Internet ethernet cable? 

Thank you very much for the Reply, but I don't mean that I need an Ethernet Switch,

I mean that I have 2 different Networks, 1 Network for PLCs and 1 Network for Internet access.

So I will need 2 IP Addresses on Unistream. 1 IP address for Network Devices and 1 IP Address for Internet access for connecting Unistream to Unicloud.

Actually this is what is confusing me, how unitronics is connected to the Cloud, does it need Internet ?

• MVP 2023

It should be no different than your personal computer. It (normally) only has a single ethernet (or wifi) port and a single IP address, yet can communicate with other devices on your internal network and communicate with the internet. As with any device communicating with the internet, you are going to need a modem, or other device, that has internet connectivity through an internet service provider.

• 1 month later...
  • MVP 2014

Hi,

I've given some though to this to solve one of my own application issues.  I think what you are wrestling with is that you don't want your automation network to be merged with the network that gives you internet access (eg office or home network - the "non-automation" network).

I've reviewed the interchange between Aus and John in the post ref above.