Help with multiple Modbus writes.

I'm fairly new to Unlogic and Ladder Logic/PLC programming in general.  I am using a PLC to control a stepper driver via Modbus and this is more of a general "best practice" question than really anything specific I suppose.

I have successfully been using aperiodic register reads & writes from the PLC.  However, what is the best way to handle multiple actions/operations?  Ie.  When you need to do several register writes in sequence to perform a certain action.  I have used the "Aperiodic Indirect Group Trigger" to execute a series of register writes successfully, but this only seems to work when the order of the writes do not matter (ie.  setting parameters).  When using this feature, there doesn't appear to be a way to specify which operation happens in what order?  Does it just use the ID number of the operation within the group and execute the operation based on that?    I have not had any luck with this feature when I need to perform operations in a specific order,  for example: stop the motor, change direction, maybe change speed, and restart motion.  In a case such as this, I have been unsuccessful.   I'm getting a Status code -11 (not even sure what that status means - timeout probably?)

Is there a better way to do this?  Should I just be using single operations instead of groups and use timers or something to control the execution?  When I just stack multiple "Aperiodic Indirect Triggers" inline, it seems that only the first one works.  I assume because the 2nd, 3rd, etc. operations try to send their command before the first is finished (strangely enough though - no errors are generated).  Should I be using timers to control the operation execution?  Is there a better way?  if so, can someone provide an example maybe?

Thank so much for any help.

In my opinion, like the sequenc to "stop the motor and reverse the direction with another speed", you have to check this in accordance with the machine you want to control.