Ethernet Listener help

Chris Graf

Hi,

I am fairly new to programming and C#. I'm trying to create my own program using Visual Studio 2010 .NET 4 platform. I have read the pdf file for Communication Driver for Dot Net and I'm having a little trouble trying to set my PC up as an Ethernet Listener. Currently I am using a button click method to read/ write all the MI's in the PLC. I tried using the examples that came with Unitronics Communication Driver but the program wouldn't build.

I have the most current DLL version (1.0.0.43) being used. I am using XP 32-bit OS.

Here is a snapshot of the code. I am wanting to take out the button method and setting this up to be a listener.

(* raw HEX image data removed - need to upload image and attach, rather than just paste. Pasting results in a large block of HEX(MIME?) data rather than the image. I don't now why - MOD *)

Any help will be greatly appreciated and thanks in advanced.

Chris

Ok, you have a lot of work to do on your C# syntax.

1) you have a static function called GetPLC which doesn't return anything.

2) That function is not written correctly (c# syntax), instead of having it's code surounded by { }, you have a ; at the end of the function definition.

The code you meant should probably be something like this:

public static void GetPLC()

{

The rest of your code here.

}

You can also have the EthernetListener sent as a parameter to that function (like you did), but then you will need to use it (instead of creating a new one, like you did).

Ok, you have a lot of work to do on your C# syntax.

1) you have a static function called GetPLC which doesn't return anything.

2) That function is not written correctly (c# syntax), instead of having it's code surrounded by { }, you have a ; at the end of the function definition.

The code you meant should probably be something like this:

public static void GetPLC()

{

The rest of your code here.

}