Creating Data Tables with time logs

Mshak

So I am a beginner when it comes to not only unitronics software, but PLC's in general. I am tasked to connect 2 door bells (one in the front, one in the back) to the PLC and create a program that once one of the buttons has been pressed, it sends a signal to the plc which activates a horn and tower lights (depending on the door).

My problem is creating a data table that acts as a log. It is supposed to keep track of  - 1. the time when a button is press, and  - 2. the date.

Also one other question, the timer off command doesn't seem to work in my programming, which is supposed to turn off the outputs after 5 seconds. of being activated,

Thanks, I know it is a lot but any help would be appreciated. 

Light.PNG

Data Table.PNG

HMI.PNG

• MVP 2023
5 hours ago, Mshak said:

the timer off command doesn't seem to work in my programming, which is supposed to turn off the outputs after 5 seconds. of being activated,

Use a positive transition of your button push to activate a Time TE. Use the output bit of the TE to activate your outputs.

Something like this:

image.thumb.png.49996c4f0eb2cd589507fdafb6bceb91.png

You appear to have the Horn coil in both rungs 1 & 2. THAT WILL NOT WORK. You can only have a direct coil in one ladder rung.

• MVP 2023
6 hours ago, Mshak said:

My problem is creating a data table that acts as a log. It is supposed to keep track of  - 1. the time when a button is press, and  - 2. the date.

You're on the right track using the UDFB RTC to ASCII. Just place a line like this in your Main Routine:

image.png.27cc79223c1fa7ea420d0f3a0b0fee57.png

Then copy those operands over to your Data Table Struct triggered by a positive transition of your button press. You will also need to index the Data Table down a line each time.

• MVP 2023
12 minutes ago, Mshak said:

I see you numbers the time to #1 and the date to #9.... are those arbitrary numbers?  What do they represent?