V570 PWM setup

Ken

Hi,

I am in the process of setting up a plc to output a 20khz with a duty cycle of 20%. I set up the ladder and setup the hardware for pwm. The duty cycle was setup as a MI and I set it to 200 for 20 Percent. My problem is figuring out the proper way to set up the frequency? I tried different MI for the frequency but cant get the signal to output at 20000hz. I am able to turn the pwm on and off but having difficulty acheiving higher frequencys.

I have V570 with V200-18-E3xb snap in I/O. I set up the dip switches for NPN. Can I get a diagram or just the proper steps for setting this up. Ive checked the manual and the help topics but none of them show clearly how to set this up. I am new to this software, but fluent in ladderlogic.

Thanks,

Ken

• MVP 2023

Setting up an -E3XB for PWM is pretty simple and it sounds like you've done it right. When you enter 20,000 in the frequency MI, what frequency do you actually get? Are you measuring it with a frequency counter or an oscilloscope? What type of load is connected to it? Have you tried measuring the frequency at 50% duty cycle?

If you're trying to measure the frequency with a frequency counter instrument, you may be running into problems with the harmonics of the square wave output.

You can also assign an ML to the frequency on a PWM output, and in NPN mode it should go to 50 kHz.

Joe T.

Setting up an -E3XB for PWM is pretty simple and it sounds like you've done it right. When you enter 20,000 in the frequency MI, what frequency do you actually get? Are you measuring it with a frequency counter or an oscilloscope? What type of load is connected to it? Have you tried measuring the frequency at 50% duty cycle?

If you're trying to measure the frequency with a frequency counter instrument, you may be running into problems with the harmonics of the square wave output.

You can also assign an ML to the frequency on a PWM output, and in NPN mode it should go to 50 kHz.

Joe T.