Using MODBUS IP to get values from sensors through Visilogic to Raspberry Pi

Hello,

I'm very new to PLC programming. This is my first practice. I'm doing a small project for my university. We have a Vision430 controller that is already connected to a temperature sensor and an ultrasonic sensor for level measurement. I have to program the V430 and a Raspberry Pi, so that the RPi can access the sensor values via MODBUS IP. I have watched the tutorial videos and tried to write the ladder logic myself but am not sure if it's correct and I haven't had the chance to go to the university lab to test it with the controller yet because of Covid-19. Could you please check the program I wrote?

And about the program for Raspberry Pi. I have to write the register addresses of the V430. I use MI1 and MI2 for the values from both sensors. Does that mean that the register addresses are 40002 and 40003 respectively?

Thank you for your advice in advance.

ATP16.vlp

• MVP 2023
7 hours ago, petchpetals said:

I use MI1 and MI2 for the values from both sensors. Does that mean that the register addresses are 40002 and 40003 respectively?

Yes that is MODBUS convention. Assuming your Raspberry Pi follows that convention, it should work. Did you try it to see?

When in unfamiliar territory I like to Store Direct SI 30 into an MI just above the vector being read (MI 0 in your case). This will immediately tell me if I have an "off by one" problem.

• Like 1

Thank you for your reply :) 

I just had the chance to test it at the university today but I had quite a few problems and could not connect the PLC to the RPi via Ethernet yet.

1. Could you tell me how to assign the IP address to the PLC in  "TCP/IP - Carn Init" block. How can I know what I should insert for IP Address, Subnet Mask and Default Gateway?