Modbus TCP sequencing Help

Morning group,

I am really new to Unitronics (I am a "brand x" who won't be mentioned guy)

I have followed along on the Modbus and Ethernet vides on the website and have successfully gotten the Modbus reads and writes used in the examples to execute.

Where I am having problems is how to get this to happen automatically within a program.

I have 2 V1040's on as client and one as server.

(I have the two programs attached)

1st net is SB2, PLC Name, TCP/IP INIT, TCP?IP SOCK INIT (Socket 3) then the Modbus IP config function.

I am using SB 13 as a trigger to open the socket of the server

The first step I am reading in 2 floats from the server (I did figure out how to disassemble and reassemble the floats) in step one.

In step two I am reading one integer and writing on integer.

Is there a thread or a tutorial that can guide me? 

The version I am using is 9.8.91 (This is the version of this specific customer and he is not receptive to changing to the newest version)

Thanks,

Jeff K

ModbusQuickTest.vlp ModbusQuickTestSlave.vlp

• MVP 2023

The way I typically do it when I want to perform two separate functions at regular intervals is to use a self-resetting timer and toggle a bit on each timer pulse. Then I will use a positive transition of the bit for the first operation and a negative transition for the second. If the timing is acceptable, you can use SB 3 or SB 7 instead of a self-resetting timer and toggle bit.

image.png.188602503cb6c402da47e1b715fab404.png

By the way, why are you using an X Bit? Do you understand how a PLC scan works? Your technique for connecting the socket and performing the MODBUS reads/writes is poor and likely to fail. I recommend reviewing the example files that came with your VisiLogic installation for proper technique.

Hi flex,