• MVP 2023

I have limited experience with the Unitronics PID function and desperately need some help. I am using a V570 with an IO-AI4-AO2 I/O Expansion and VisiLogic 8.6.3. I am connecting a pressure sensor (4-20ma) to AI0 and controlling a pump on AO0, also with 4-20ma. I have set up a PID control loop using the example file in VisiLogic, but some of the configuration MIs are a bit confusing. Can someone provide a common sense explanation for some of the less obvious ones? For example, the PV high and low limit - what are these values doing? I understand the limits on CV, but not PV.

Also, I am unable to get the Autotune PID Server to work properly. I was able to get it online with the PLC with all the MIs set, but when I run the Server, nothing happens - there is no data exchange with the I/O module. Any helpful hints?

Lastly, this is an extremely simple control loop and could probably work well with proportional control only. Can I & D be turned off? Either way, what are some basic starting values I should input into the configuration MIs to at least get me down the road to tuning the control loop?

Hi Flex,

I'll try ot answer your questions:

PV range (Low and High limits) is the range PID operates and makes its calculations. Then, Proportional band (Pb) is defined as percent of PV range (with resolution of 0.1%). Proportional error Ep is calculated as percent of Pb. Ep is 100% at the border of Pb and 0% at SP.

As PV range is wider, as the absolute error in stable state is greater - having the same error in pecents. In other hand, making PV range too narrow, you risk to exit this range and then PID will be messed.