Memory Manipulation Best Practices Question

Hi, I'm new to ladder logic and unitronics but I've got some v130s and I'm building my first project.  I've gotten the core functionality working but I'm now expanding my program to include the hmi and user interactive modifications.  

The core of my project utilizes 42 total, 32 and 36 byte hex vectors sent via "UDP RAW" these 42 vectors are primarily composed of the same bytes, but in different sequences. For my proof of concept, I have been simply typing in the data into the power up values but now I need to manipulate individual bytes and store into my vectors.  

I'm seeking some insight into best practices for this configuration stage of the program, initially, I was going to make a conditional subroutine to be called at the conclusion of the initial user input configuration,  so that the user input values would be compared to predefined sequences of either vector operations, store direct, or data tables. ( I'm still learning which operations would be best).     

After reading the forum, I've learned conditional subroutines should never be used. I'm a bit lost as to how to complete the 1 time memory remap/ sequencing without constantly rewriting the memory each cycle or clogging up my main routine.   Should I simply call the subroutine in the main routine every cycle and add a switch or compare to every rung of my remap subroutine so it only activates upon a button press or MB compare+ state change to disable. I'm open to any suggestions.

thank you in advance for the help and thank you for bearing with any misunderstandings I have, I've only been learning for a week so far.

• MVP 2023
5 hours ago, Sailor_Poon69 said:

After reading the forum, I've learned conditional subroutines should never be used.