Good morning,

I am new to the Unitronics world, our company just become a VAR/Distributor last week. I've visited a couple of customer with the product and came out with a list of questions. Through the Forum and manuals, I've gotten several questions answered, but several are still outstanding, and I'm curious if this forum is where I can get them answered?

1) The free software download is awesome - but opens the question of backwards compatibility to older programs and hardware. If my customer is updating the software on a regular basis, does Unitronics have a general statement regarding compatibility with older hardware and previous programs?

2) Mitsubishi and Omron have a neat function where they can display the ladder on the HMI and monitor it - no software or PC required to troubleshoot. No editting allowed. With the Vision series, can this be done - the ladder montiored on the HMI screen?

3) Other HMIs I've worked with allow run-time access to "system screens" - setting contrast, IP address, screen calibration, etc. I've seen in the manuals that these screens can be accessed by holding your finger on a blank area of a screen for several seconds, but is it possible to use button (perhaps password protected) to do this as well?

4) I've seen information about program scan time, but little about local I/O update times. Is there a place to look this up? I haven't found it yet.

Thank you for your time!

Ted

• MVP 2023

Ted,

Welcome to the pack!

I am a distributor in St. Louis - feel free to call me anytime at (314)878-9910. I've had the line for 10 years and I've programmed most of the PLC's out there. You'll find the forum to be an excellent resource with several non-paid moderators such as myself that bring a lot of real-world experience to the table.

I'll try to answer your questions in my usual heavily-opinionated manner: