Ethernet/IP

robmeier

Hi Unitronics Team,

I'm an Electrical Engineer working in a production environment. When we build a new machine, we have been using Red Lion screens for our smaller HMI applications. We were wanting to step away from just having a dumb, expensive HMI and move to a more aggressive HMI.

Currently, most of our operator stations have one main 15" HMI. We generally have 3 smaller displays that will display different information about the machine that the operators will need to have displayed at all times. We were hoping that the Unitronics HMI/PLC combo would be something we could migrate to. We started with a little project using a Samba to see what these devices were capable of. I was very impressed with the ease of use and the size of the device. We had a little project that needed to be able to handle a few inputs, a few outputs and display some information based on information from the inputs. The project worked like a charm. However, we use Allen Bradley PLCs on all of our machines, so we are currently not able to communicate. We rely heavily on Ethernat/IP. I was told by a supplier that you guys may have this feature in the future. Do you guys have a time frame for this?

Also, I would have liked to have seen the Web Server interface on the Samba.

Thanks,

Rob Meier

Hi Unitronics Team,

I'm an Electrical Engineer working in a production environment. When we build a new machine, we have been using Red Lion screens for our smaller HMI applications. We were wanting to step away from just having a dumb, expensive HMI and move to a more aggressive HMI.