timer or loop?

I'm extremely new to ladder logic and I've run into a problem with my first program. For safety sake, I need to ignore input "1" while input "2" is high and then do the opposite, ignore input "2" while input "1" is high. Both situations need only occur for 500ms, then look for the opposite input again. I can make a timer to ignore one input, but my second timer disables the process from functioning. Thanks in advance for any help.

• External Moderators

500 ms is the time of the pulses of SB3.

My way:

First send the value of Inputs to Memory Bits but only when you want:

SB3  I1   I0      MB0
--| |--|/|--| |-----( )
 SB3  IO   I1      MB1
--|/|--|/|--| |-----( )

Then use MB0 and MB1 instead of I0 and I1 in your application.

500 ms is the time of the pulses of SB3.

My way:

First send the value of Inputs to Memory Bits but only when you want:

SB3  I1   I0      MB0
--| |--|/|--| |-----( )
 SB3  IO   I1      MB1
--|/|--|/|--| |-----( )

Then use MB0 and MB1 instead of I0 and I1 in your application.

I don't think that's quite what he had in mind - Perry, what do you mean when you say "Ignore input 1 while input 2 is high"? Do you mean that for 500 ms after input 1 goes high, all signals from input 2 are ignored? And, similarly, after that, for 500 ms after input 2 goes high, all signals from input 1 are ignored? If so, you're looking at something more like this:

MB1                 T1
--| |---------------(0.50)
 MB2                 T2

I1   MB2           MB1
--| |-+-|/|-+--------( )
     |     |
     | T2  |
     +-| |-+

I2   MB1           MB2
--| |-+-|/|-+--------( )
     |     |
     | T1  |
     +-| |-+

For example - if I1 comes on with I2 off, then MB1 immediately comes on, which prevents I2 from turning MB2 on.

However, T1 also starts timing, and after 500 ms, will allow I2 to turn on MB2. At that point, whenever I2 turns on,

it will turn on MB2 (which will keep I1 from turning on MB1).