communication issues

hi, 

let me start by saying i am new to this and trying to learn as i go, but i need help please 

i have  a m91-2-R6-ZK1 controller i am trying to  connect to it so i can up load the program to my computor and down load it to an other m91.  when i try to upload it starts out with this

1. date, time, <1,9600,E,7,1>1,9600,7,EVEN,1,3,1500> Retransmitting

2. date, time, <1,9600,E,7,1> Switching Com Port

3. date, time, <1,9600,E,7,1> Synchronizing Com Ports

then it faults out with can not communicate, give the 3 reasons, cable not connected, time out to short, incorrect communication settings.

i have played around with the time out timing did not solve the issue, checked com port everything looks right there, both at 1.  using the goldx usb adapter with a dp 9  to rj11 connector rs232 cable.

but i just cant seem to figure this out, any help would be greatly appreciated.  

• MVP 2023

I normally communicate with 9600, N, 8, 1. Confirm that your M91 Com port setting exactly matches your PCs Com port setting. Confirm you are using the correct Com port on your PC by going into Device Manager. 

45 minutes ago, jturner said:

checked com port everything looks right there, both at 1

This leads me to believe you aren't understanding Com ports. The port number on your PC and the port number on your PLC are not related. You must use the correct one for each.

• MVP 2023

jt, as Flex is implying, it is possible that com port 1 on the PC is not the port you need.  Have device manager open in the PC and then plug in just your goldx adapter (not attached to plc) and see what happens in the com ports area.  You should get the display refreshed and another port will appear that is the one related to the adapter.

cheers, Aus

• MVP 2023