Hi

I am a newbie to Visilogic and I am really sturggling to reset me TD timers to the preset value after they have counted down (in this case 15 seconds).

I have attached a screen shot of the visilogic screen of my current configuration of the timer.

Please can someone help and tell me what I am doing wrong as I am pulling my hair out!

Thanks

Russ

post-8755-0-59422900-1342790192_thumb.jpg

• Upvote 1

Hi Russ,

Some comments, and only meant to be taken constructively.

Never use Set and Reset coils on physical outputs. In fact I recommend avoiding them when possible in most other cases as well. Especially in the beggining when you are learning. It makes for very messy and fragile programs.

You set an ouptut based on an equal comparator. This means that the value has to be EXACTLY equal to your compared value at the the time it scan this. Generally I would expect to see a <=, >=, or a LIM.

Please describe in real world terms what you are trying to achieve so that we know you are taking the right approach.

The way you have written this, even when the timer completes, if the comparator remains equal you will immediately set the Output again before the timer has a chance to reset.

Timers can be reset using and --®-- of that timer number. I don't prefer this method myself, but it is an option.

I will post you an example of a simple self resetting timer that used "sealed in" type logic, as opposed to "latch logic"

Hi Damian

Thank you for your help, it is much appreciated.

Your method does reset the timer but it i need it to operate and reset independant of the "pressure switch".

I will explain what I am trying to achieve:

Process starts with press of a button.

High pressure inflation starts.

When a set pressure is reached, the timer is triggered.

Pressure is held until timer reaches 0 and then the next HMI / routine etc is loaded.