Hi,

I'm new to PLC programming but have years of experience in embedded C, I am currently using a V1210 to control an industrial process and I'm so far impressed with the Unitronics kit. I do have the following issue though....

I have a several indicators on the HMI that all require the same processing steps (apart from the input variable) and was wondering if it is possible to create my own FB to process these rather than repeat the ladder multiple times. I have a subroutine to perform the processing but I can't see any way of making this act on different HMI variables.

Please excuse my ignorance if there is a simple solution to this.

Best Regards

Pete.

Hi Petercolquhoum.

Custom FB is possible in the new UniStream series of Unitronics.

Unfortunately in Vision series this is not possible to do.

One possible workaround is to use a Data table with the values for the process and a different MI operand for each of the values you’ll like to see on the HMI. Call the subroutine as many times as you need but before calling the subroutine, increment an index so you will read from the corresponding row of the DT the value and linked it to the operands to be use in the process. At the end you link the result to each of the different varaiables you’ll like to display on the HMI screen.

Hope this helps.

Uni Guru,

Well.... I tried but without much success, I'm now a bit concerned that I am using the wrong approach and would be grateful for some advice....

I have a number of HMI elements (Lists of Images) that present Leds etc as the same bitmap but with different colours.

Each image list has 4 similar images with different colours Red, Green, amber and white.

So the Link parameter is used to switch the colour of the HMI element.

I also have, for each HMI element, a MB that indicates if that element is flashing. Flashing is achieved by switching between the currently displayed colour (Red, Green or Amber) and white.