Confused by PNP and NPN Wiring in the Samba Manual

Hi all

I am relatively new to PLC programming and using a Samba 35 to teach myself. I am familiar with the relevant principles but I am being a touch confused by how PNP and NPN wiring are visualised in the manual. For reference I am looking at the manual at https://www.unitronicsplc.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/SMXX-J-T20_R20_DOC17015-A4_02-15.pdf , pages 7 & 8.

The manual as linked above, seems to suggest that a + common is NPN and a - common is PNP.  But every other resource I've read (for example, http://plchowto.com/wiring-plcs/ ) describes them as the opposite.

I have been used to the idea that for NPN, the switch or sensor goes between the 24VDC supply and the PLC input; whereas for PNP, the switch or sensor goes between the Common and the PLC input.

I'm a bit confused... the manual seems to contradict everything else. Can anyone clarify this for me?

Thanks

• MVP 2014

Hi,

I think you have the sensor side back to front.  Below are two diagrams from 2 brands of sensors.  The PNP sensor is connected between +24V and the PLC input (load) and the NPN sensor is connected between 0V and the PLC input.

It's the opposite for outputs.

The terms Sinking and Sourcing often get used, and that can also be confusing without the right reference point.  It's better to think in terms of current flow rather than voltage.  The sinking and sourcing of current is relative to the signal driver.  And for the purists, we are talking conventional current not electron flow 🙂

Sourcing - the signal driver is pushing current

* sourcing input - the driver (sensor) pushes current into the load (PLC input)

* sourcing output - the driver (PLC output) pushes current into the load (solenoid, relay, etc)

Sinking - the signal driver is receiving current

* sinking input - the driver (sensor) receives current from the load (PLC input)

* sinking output - the driver (PLC output) receives current from the load (solenoid, relay, etc)