Hi,

Is it possible to brick an EX-RC1 during a ladder download?  I am just learning Visilogic and do not have much experience with PLC's, so I make little adjustments to my ladder then download it to see the results.  My current setup is a Vision 280 (ID#1), the EX-RC1 (ID#2) connected via CANbus, and an IO-ATC8 set up for thermocouples.  I have downloaded to both units several times so I know my connection are correct.  When I encountered the problem I had changed the STRUCT(collect) in the IN module to MI's for the analog inputs.  I seem to have done it incorrectly because the download did not even finish and communication was lost.  I can connect the programming cable to the V280 and it talks fine so it is definitely the EX-RC1.  If I go to Connections->Communication & OS and hit 'Get OPLC Information' it times out and gives 'Communication Driver Error (206)'.

I would have expected an error of some sort, but to kill it seems pretty extreme.

I’ve seen PLC brick during O/S updates but never during a program down load.   A EX-RC1 is basically a stripped down V120.

I’d try the following 

1) what baud rate is your communication set to?   If you communicating with an EX-RC1 it should be 57600

2) If you can’t get communication established with the EX-RC1 via a serial link , yet you are able to communicate with the V280.  You should be able to use the V280 as a bridge to talk to the EX-RC1 over the CanBus connection.    You would need to look at your communication setting and change from a direct connection to a Within Network.    Then select the ID of the node (in your case 2) to communicate with. Try getting the OPLC information.  It should come back with the EX-RC1.   You should now be able to down load as normal.

Eventually you can make a Ladder loop which cannot be stopped.

Power-off EX-RC1 unit,

Change DIP switches to ID=0.

This force EX-RC1 to STOP mode.

Check communication.

Load empty project, or project with counter.