Hi all, I'm new with Unitronics PID and struggling a bit so please help. I'm having some trouble with PID auto tune for a pumping application trying to achieve a set point pressure. I have V700 and 2x IO-AI4-AO2, a 0-10bar (4-20mA) pressure transducer as my process feedback and 4-20mA output to a VFD scaled to 0-50Hz, using 4x pumps of varying size so introduce the next size up if duty pump cant reach SP, therefore using  4x PID loops writing to 4x analogue output channels. When starting auto tune I'm getting -4 status fairly quickly and also -11 often so auto tune not completing. Being verticle multistage  pumps, once the VFD is given run enable, the VFD is internally set up to ramp quickly to 30Hz min speed before following the mA speed ref, which appears to be 50Hz anyway from the PID control output. Is this integral error -4 due to forcing the VFD to 30Hz outside of the PID control on start up?. Can anyone suggest why I'm getting this -4, do I need to force the integral error to zero?

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Kratmel, the issue with this set up is I have 4kw, 7.5kw, 18.5kw and 55kw pumps so as to provide a flow rate range depending on draw off pressure line. My thinking there is each pump will need its own PID which I have running continuously, however only one pump will be enabled to respond to pressure drop depending on rate of fall from SP pressure. Using this theory, I am probably best stopping the disabled pumps respective PID loops until the VFD is called?.

• MVP 2023