Visilogic newbie here, with a couple questions

Hello all.

I've recently started using Visilogic PLC's and Unitronics equipment as a complete novice with no more than "some" common sense and a bit of background computer knowledge. So far I have managed to complete simple tasks (HMI , jumps , buttons , basic linearization, HW config) on the project I am currently working on, however I am having some issues with some more advanced functions, in particular logic functions and some maths functions.

i have a 0-10v vacuum transducer which is set in the hardware configurator as a 10-bit(fast) analogue input, i would like to make this to read in scientific notation such as X.XXe^X  Mbar values is there a recommended way to try and approach this or is there a function block similar to the linearization FB i can use? 

any help or guidance on this would be greatly appreciated 

many thanks,

Ben 

9 hours ago, Ausman said:

Welcome Ben, highly relevant to your question is the need to know what model Vision you have?

Morning thank you! , apologies i read the DO's and DON'TS after i had posted this.

i am using a V1040-T20B with an IO-AI8 for the analogue input in question. 

is there any more information you need? 

:) 

Hi;

0-10V Analog Input   -  the PLC takes the raw analog data   and stores it in an integer ( MI) in the PLC memory.

If you are planning to do math with the number, then work in integers   - a lot faster and easier for the PLC to process, you just have to keep track of the decimal position.

MI's   are     16 Bit  nimbers  -32000  to +32000  roughly,  or use an  ML  32 bit numbers

Scientific notation ( Floats ) requires a lot more PLC processing time because everything has to be converted  into interger  math anyways  by the processor during the process.

Displaying  Integers with decimal point is easy as you know where it is  and can tell the Number display how to display the number with the decimal.