Attempting to pick a PLC + HMI controller

Hi,

I'm new to Unitronics.  I like what I can see of the VisiLogic software.  I am trying to identify an appropriate Unitronics controller that can satisfy my general processing requirements. 

I'm planning to design a control for an oven application.  The oven will control on temperature, and will need to hold a set of possibly a dozen 'temperature recipes' available for the operator to choose from.  Each recipe must be able to be programmed with individual ramp and soak schedules at selected temperatures over elapsed process time.   I think I have ruled out the Samba controllers because I will additionally be data logging possibly a dozen or more thermocouples and will need to add expanded I/O capability.  From what I read at this forum, it makes more economic sense to move up to a Vision series control.   

What I don't know at this point is whether the Vision series can be programmed for ramp and soak control recipes, as well as be able to handle operator recipe selection from multiple such individual recipes.   Any advice would be appreciated.

• MVP 2023

From my experience, the use of the Samba controller is appropriate for economical one- and two-zone control. There are only two possible PID loops.

Increasing the number of sensors requires more inputs to control and more outputs to send a PWM signal. Accordingly, in the Vision series, 24 PID loops  are available and all the capabilities you need for recording and programming heating profiles.

For the first attempts, you should definitely take a Vision series controller.

Ask your distributor about expansion options and you can easily expand the number of control channels.

Again, from experience, working with recipes and profiles is easier with a larger screen. Your task is to find a balance between the money spent and the result obtained.

Thanks for the quick response, Flex727 and kratmel.