The attached image is taken directly from the help file on timers. The way it reads to me is, A button is pushed, a timer runs for X amount of time, and then an output is turned on. But every time i try and run this, i get the following result.

Button is pushed, output is turned on immediately, timer runs for X amount of time, and then the output goes off. 

If i change the timer to TD, it kind of works more like i thought this would, except the button must be held down continuously, which is not what i need. 

I am a novice at this, and am kinda fiddling around trying to get a handle on it. I am using a v350. Does anyone have any idea why this might be happening? 

v350.jpg.0b493c21f69784f3f1f008e732b7ecec.jpg

pb1.vlp

• MVP 2023
3 hours ago, NickButt said:

A button is pushed, a timer runs for X amount of time, and then an output is turned on. 

Is this what you're wanting to do? If so, then you want to use a delay timer (TD).

image.png.7bde66e74276b741c5c1c968b8d920ea.png

Rung 4 allows you to turn the output off by pressing the button a second time.  There are probably 12 other ways to do this, including a way to use the TE timer that may be a bit simpler using a negative transition to turn on the output and doesn't require the Latch bit. Using the TE timer would require you to turn the output off in a different way than I have above,

• MVP 2023

The wording of the help file is not quite right in this case.  It should read differently along the lines of Once Key 3 is pressed, O3 switches on, the timer decrements to zero, and once it reaches zero O3 turns off.

Vision timers can do everything needed with timers, but other plc makers often have far more types (and methods of relating that timer to other elements) that make it far, far easier to achieve an aim.  This has always been a pet hate of Vision that I have.  Using Flex's example above, another brand I use simply needs 2 elements on one rung to do all that.